You can see when a contact changes his/her picture if you're still friends and access the profile. Things change when you're blocked. Not only you can't see the pictures, but you won't have the possibility to access the profile at all.
Also, Viber doesn't inform you when someone blocked you from contacting them. This is generally available for all this kind of applications.