After you have deleted and blocked someone then unblocked them, a certain amount of time needs to pass. For example, you can find it right away. After the servers update, you will be able to add the deleted person using Find Friends. Input his email or username and you should be able to add him back. The waiting process is actually 1-4 days, but it could happen sooner. Just try from time to time.