If you block and remove someone from your list, you will need to wait for 1-2 days before you can actually add them. Same thing happens with the messaging. You will receive the message/friend request after a few days. The phone will be notified. This happens because of the servers and their updates. When the pending appears, it means you've issued the request but it hasn't been completed. Just a few more days and it should work afterwards.