It seems that your browser has a favorite used as a home page. Even if you clear your cookies and close the browser, when you open it up the browser loads the home page, thus saving new cookies and that's why when you press
Details you will see new content. Cookies are saved by a webpage itself and ads, flash animations and basically everything that's on a webpage. On the other hand, cookies are simply text files which contain unharmful data. Clearing the cookies is recommended when you know for sure that the website you are accessing has new content, design or structure.