First time here? Check out the FAQ!
x

If I run WinDirStat I can see Eraser's overwritten files. They are typically in 260MB blocks. If I delete these overwritten files will it expose the old files that Eraser had written over?

0 votes
asked by about Eraser
edited by

If I run WinDirStat I can see Eraser's overwritten files. They are typically in 260MB blocks. If I delete these overwritten files will it expose the old files that Eraser had written over?

1 Answer

0 votes
answered by (264k points)

The answer is no. Even if you manage to remove the overwritten files, you will not be able to recover or access the old files. This is the way Eraser works: overwrite old files with new content to make recovery impossible.

Your answer

Your name to display (optional):
Privacy: Your email address will only be used for sending these notifications.
Anti-spam verification:
To avoid this verification in future, please log in or register
...