I usually download a book to my favorites and then I move it to a folder under the authors name. If I delete it from Favorites will it also be deleted from the folder?
No, it won't. Favorites menu simply keeps a link to the books stored for fact access. You can safely delete the favorite shortcuts because your books will remain in their place.